Leatherface: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre III

Leatherface: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre III, 1990

This long-awaited follow-up pays shocking homage to one of the most deeply disturbing films ever made.

A young couple driving coast to coast are lured off the main highway onto a deserted Texas road. Here they are stalked by the infamous “Leatherface” and his demented family.

Their only chance for escape is a tough survivalist with enough fire power to blast Leatherface and the rest of the grizzly predators to hell…

Will they escape the terror of Leatherface’s infamous chainsaw? To find out, prepare yourself for a nerve-shattering experience…

THE TERROR BEGINS THE SECOND IT STARTS.

Given what I’ve read on the Net about this movie, and seeing as how TCM1 was so damned good, I was uncertain as to whether or not to check it out. I was standing there in the video shop going “Hmmm….. Hmmmmm… HMMMM….”, but I eventually decided I’d give it a go.

If you’re wondering why I didn’t hire part 2 before part 3, it’s coz it’s banned in Australia, which is hella-gax. Anyway, I hired this.

First thing I noticed when I whacked it in was that it was very, very similar to TCM1. Well, the first thing I noticed was that there was over 30 minutes worth of previews, so that should say SECOND thing. Anyway, it had many things in it that were direct rip-offs from the first one. Just some of the filming techniques used, some of the scenes, some of the dialogue and shit like that.

Overall, I was pretty unimpressed with this film. It didn’t have that “what you don’t see” approach that the original had, instead it tried to show you lots of violence and freak you out that way. Well, I think that’s what they were trying to do… it didn’t work, regardless. They didn’t SHOW the violence. And don’t give me that “Well then they ARE doing the ‘what you don’t see’ technique”, because they fucking weren’t. They’d show some guy getting chainsawed, but only show Leatherface, not actually show the guy getting carved up.

Anyway, stupid script, stupid main characters, stupid jokes (it’s not a comedy, fuckwits!!), and stupid things happening make this a movie for stupid people. But, like I said, it might just be because I liked part 1 so much. If this was TCM1, then it’d probably get a higher rating, but it doesn’t, because it’s not.

60%.

Leave a Reply

