Funny Games

Funny Games, 2007

It was really really good. I just watched the trailer now, and it doesn’t look as good as it actually was. I saw it not having any idea what it was about, and it turned out to be great. One thing about it, was that there were parts where one of the main kids spoke to the audience, and at first I thought that was fucking shit and ruining the movie. But further into it they use the technique to really fuck with the viewer and that’s when I ‘got it’… loved it.

Unfortunately, I saw it by myself, so I didn’t get to have that post-film pow-wow we always engage in, and I really wanted to talk about it!! There was an old bloke in there (old as in he had a walking stick old) and I asked him what he thought.. his response was “Terrible!”. I laughed and said “You didn’t like it?” to which he replied “Dreadful!”. Obviously I wasn’t gonna get much conversation outta him!! So as I was leaving the Jam Factory I caught up with another guy who was in there, and asked him about it, and he said “It was pretty full on!” but then his phone rang and I was left to ponder it alone. 😦

A remake of an old Austrian (I think?) film: 4.5/5 beans.

Leave a Reply

