The Loved Ones

The Loved Ones, 2009

I was going to a gig and had some time to kill so I was tossing up between seeing the new Jackass or The Loved Ones. I chose the latter.

All I knew about it was that it was an Aussie horror and I’d seen the poster which had the quote “Pretty In Pink meets Wolf Creek!”. The poster also reminded me of both Prom Night and Happy Birthday To Me, so I thought it was gonna be a slasher/comedy sorta thing. I wasn’t expecting too much based on that, but it was way more serious and full on than I expected!

Awesome movie; really full-on horror. It was agonising at parts and it had me squirming and actually hoping the good guy would actually beat the baddy, which I don’t usually do.

The soundtrack had some shitty metal in it but I can overlook that.

9.5/10 beans.

Leave a Reply

