Wolf Creek 2

Wolf Creek 2, 2013

I was really looking forward to this, and hadn’t read anything about it in the lead up to seeing it. I heard during the day that it was more of a ‘horror comedy’ than a pure horror, which was a pretty big concern, but I figured, if I knew that going in to it, I could accept it, and enjoy it for what it is.

What it is, is worse than I could have imagined. It had potential from the opening scene, and the cop getting his head blown open was awesome, but there wasn’t much else great about it. It’s like they tried to turn Mick into a Freddy Krueger-type character, giving him far too many stupid one-liners. The use of CGI right from the start was another concern, and although there wasn’t too much throughout, it still bugged me.

After the ridiculous kangaroo scene, I didn’t think it could get much worse, but then there was the house segment, which was just strange, before turning ludicrous. And next thing we’re in a ridiculously long quiz scene? There were some great effects on the corpses that Ben stumbles across during his escape attempt, but it wasn’t enough to salvage the film. It’s not something I’ll bother watching again. In fact, it just made me want to watch Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

4/10 beans.

Also the ending was pretty dumb. I know it ties it into the ‘real life’ story it’s based upon, but it didn’t make much sense in the context of the film.

Another annoyance was at the start, when the title came on sreen, it comes up as ‘Wolf Creek’… and then the ‘2’ fades in afterwards. SO STUPID.

Leave a Reply

