Army Of Darkness

Army Of Darkness, 1992

It’s been a long long time since I watched the three Evil Dead films together. I had memories of this one being better than it was. Not that t’s not good – it is. It just seems to drag a bit at the end, with the big fight scene. Choreographed fight scenes always bore me, and unfortunately this one wasn’t any exception. But it’s still a good movie, and has some great scenes while Ash is on his quest to retrieve the Book. 7.5/10 beans.

As a side note – we started watching this on the US Anchor Bay DVD (which has some pretty shit cover art – see below), but unfortunately the disc started skipping around the 20 minute mark. I tried to skip ahead a little but it kept screwing up so I switched it over to the MGM Australian DVD. The picture didn’t seem as crisp as the US one, which was a shame. I thought I’d post two screens to compare, and I also noticed the Australian version seems to be cropped. Bummer. The DVDs are both pretty fucking old now, so it doesn’t really matter anyway, but I still thought I’d mention it.

Australian MGM DVD, 2003.

Australian MGM DVD, 2003.

US Anchor Bay DVD, 1999.

US Anchor Bay DVD, 1999.

Leave a Reply

